Collaborative Incubation Exchanges

Collaboration incubation exchanges: Travel grants are available to support strategic collaborations which can accelerate the development of quantum technologies through implanted single impurities. The funding is available to all RAISIN network members holding a permanent position within an institution or company. (Early career researchers and PhD students should apply for funding through the Short Term Research Missions call).

Funding is eligible for visits to or from any UK institution/company. The duration of the exchange will typically be 5-14 days and awarded in a competitive process. A maximum £2000 per application is available.

How to Apply

This is an open call in which applications can be submitted at anytime. Applications must include a proposal (maximum 1 page, 11 pt Arial, 2 cm margins) using the template below.

    Financial Support

    The award can support travel and subsistence expenses

    • Maximum £135 (GBP) per day for accommodation and meal expenses.
    • Maximum £250 (GBP) for travel within Europe, with increased allowance for travel outside Europe.
    • Maximum £2000 (GBP) for total funding of STRM per applicant.

    Applications are welcome which can provide some matching funding from other sources.


    The following eligibility criteria apply:

    1. Must have a minimum duration of 5 days.
    2. Applicant must hold a permanent position at an institution or company.
    3. The applicant must be from a UK institution/comany or the host must be a UK institution/company.
    4. The research mission must be carried out within 6 months of the announcement letter of the award.
    5. The application needs to be submitted before the deadline of 1st April 2023.
    6. The nature of the collaboration must be on a topic related to single ion implantation and/or its applications.

    Evaluation and selection of applicants

    The evaluation and selection of each application will be decided by a four-person UK selection committee, chaired by the Network Director (Steven Clowes) with membership: Margherita Mazzera (Heriot-Watt, Rare Earths), Gavin Morley (Warwick, defects in diamond) and Ben Murdin (Surrey, impurities in Si & Ge).